Subscribe now

Unknown Gringo believes that VROOM VROOM single...
Dancehall artiste Unknown Gringo is getting a huge buzz with his latest single, 'Vroom Vroom' , which was released on the Chase Mills Records label recently. More detail
The Dubplates continues to do well on the...
The Dubplates continues its strong run on the Blllboard Reggae charts, coming in at number eight with their critically acclaimed set,  Box Full of Steel by The Dubplates, selling 92 copies, down from 280 sold the week before. To date, it has clocked 2,956 in sales.   More detail
Wayne Marshall's father suffers heart attack
Dancehall artiste Wayne Marshall, who has embraced a more spiritual side in his music, is praying that his father makes a full recovery after he suffered a  heart attack today.  More detail
Detectives from the Constant Spring police station swooped down on Mavado's residence in Norbrook this afternoon and detained his son, brother, cousin and nephew in a major operation. However, Mavado slipped the police dragnet as he left the island last night.  More detail
Chozenn criticizes "self-appointed Jesus...
Chozenn found himself in the eye of a firestorm of criticism last week that was so intense that it prompted the nation's number one gospel station, LOVE FM, to ban the remake to appease outraged Christians. However, Chozenn remains stoic in the face of the backlash, and vowed to stick to his path.... More detail

Reggae Grass Roots Volume 1 from Donsome Records Featured

Archive Written by  contributed Thursday, 07 June 2012 23:18 font size decrease font size increase font size 0
Rate this item
(0 votes)
      In a rare exhibition of substance over style the various artistes compilation Reggae Grass Roots Volume 1 from Donsome Records continues a trend of deliciously appetizing treats waiting to be consumed by lovers of good music.  

 While the majority of today’s music seems to focus more on hype rather than substance, Reggae Grass Roots Vol 1 showcases keepsake melodies and vocal prowess

 Adrian ‘Donsome’ Hanson and his musical partner Shady teamed up to produce the ReggaeGrass Roots compilation which is expected to become an annual series.

"I wanted to do an album that is full of roots,real grass roots music, with positive messages. So while I was putting thetracks together, I kept saying this is real reggae grass roots messagesand by the time we finished the album, we stuck with the theme”, Hanson explained in a release to the media.

 Securing the artistes for involvement in the project wasn’t a tedious task as theproducer was already familiar with most of the collaborators from a previousproject.

 Feedback to the project has been nothing short of overwhelming. “It’s hard to single outa one song because the feedback is so great.  The reaction from real lovers of roots and reggae music have indicated that this is a nice reggae rootsvibes for the summer”, said Hanson.

 Comparing his latest project with his previous work, the producer pointed out that Reggae Grass Roots Vol. 1 is evidence that his work as a producer keeps getting better as time goes by.

 Featured on the Reggae Grass Roots Vol. 1 compilation are Tek Away by Erasto; Famine and Drought by I Wayne, What a Whoa by Lutan Fyah; Da Truth by Ce’Cile; Jah WillSee Us Thru by Ancient; Speedy by Jah Mason; Put it Away by Sizzla; Lost our Way by I Octane;  Tired of Sleeping inthe Rain by Anthony B; We Trade by Miss Diva; Black Seeds by Perfect;  Time by Turbulence; Holding Down by Rage featuring Lukie D; Pull Your Kotch by Jack Radics; Guide and Protect by Ginjah;Yardie by Lukie D featuring Busy Signal; No Matter Dem by Jimmy Riley featuring Kush Riley; and Man a Yaad by Jigsy King featuring Tony Curtis.

Read 1388 times Last modified on Sunday, 10 June 2012 21:40

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.

Download our Free App

This Day in Dancehall History

August 15 2014 0

Nature featured in THE FRIDAY STAR @whatasinting @Ishawna @SkattaBurrell @riddimstreamtv @tyehimbakafele #DSR @one876

Reggae singer Nature is featured in THE FRIDAY STAR, as he cements his place as one of Jamaica's top live acts.

Latest Comments