Download our Free App

Sumfest banner

Subscribe now


Prezident Brown returns with "I Sound Is From Creation" Featured

Entertainment News Written by  AKA Friday, 28 September 2012 07:54 font size decrease font size increase font size 0
Rate this item
(0 votes)
  Jamaican roots reggae artist Prezident Brownreturns with the highly-anticipated release of his latest album, I Sound Is From Creation, available on November 13, 2012 from Tad's Records. Born Fitz Cotterell in Clarendon, Jamaica, Prezident Brown embarked on his musical journey in the 1980's, and over the years, has transcended international borders to bring his brand of socially-conscious messages, packaged through sweet reggae music, to the global audience.    

Hailed as one of the few remaining authentic roots reggae entertainers, Prezident Brown is often compared to the late Dennis Brown and Jacob Miller ofInner Circle. This, his ninth full-length release, is no different, as he continues his mission to educate and entertain, through his music. 

Boasting 14 tracks molded by Prezident Brown's signature chanting style, all solidly laced over classic one-drop reggae riddimsI Sound Is From Creationis a must-have album for reggae lovers. With the first single, "Be Careful (Rags To Riches)," Prezident Brown implores listeners to not get attached to material things or lose themselves, as they rise from "rags" to "riches." The second single, "Teach The Youths Dem (Meditation)," address the destruction of the culture and encourages youths to be strong in the face of adversity. Other notable tracks include "Defender," where he delves into his Rastafarian faith and urges the public to not belief the negative propaganda that is spread about the religion, "Fi Wi Queen (Jamaica 50)," which pays  tribute to Jamaica's 50th Independence celebrations, "Everything Is Everything,"which explores the mysteries of creation, and "Rebel With A Cause," a unique combination of neo-soul and roots reggae that speaks to Prezident Brown's musical versatility. 


"I came up with the album name I Sound Is From Creation because some of the songs were made from chanting the melody and lyrics," revealsPrezident Brown. "The musicians created music for the chant and together we made a record." Working alongside Axx Of Jahpostles (Devon Bradshaw on bass and Ian "Beezy" Coleman on guitar) on the production created a fruitful and comfortable working situation for the entertainer. "It is always a pleasure to work with Devon Bradshaw and Ian Coleman," states Prezident Brown. "We work very well as a team and they are involved in a lot of my projects that are already out." Axx Of Jahpostles thus share in the album's billing. 


"Overall I have grand feeling about the album as the collection of tunes represents me well," discloses Prezident Brown. "I believe real progress is gradual and not overnight, so one should practice and maintain one's position. This project took two years, on and off, to conceive and come together." With the final project in hand, Prezident Brown is bound to satisfy the masses, as he continues his prolific pursuit as a reggae music ambassador and a socially-conscious commentator.


"Prezident Brown, as an artist, is one of those silent but deadly gems of reggae music," states Tad Dawkins, President of Tad's Record. "His songs are both entertaining as well as powerful in message. There was no contemplating when the opportunity arose for Tad's Record to put out an album for Prezident Brown and Axx Of Jahpostles. Tad's Record deals with quality music and I Sound is from Creation is a solid and high quality album."   


I Sound Is From Creation will be available both physically and digitally onNovember 13, 2012 with worldwide distribution by Tad's Record. For further information on Prezident Brown, including upcoming tour dates, log on toprezidentbrownmusic.com, and follow his musical mission atfacebook.com/PrezBrownpr and twitter.com/PrezidentBrown. For all press inquiries, please contact the FOX FUSE Publicity Department at 1-212-300-3813 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Track List


1. Fi We Queen (Jamaica 50)
2. Hypocritical Smiling Faces
3. Cease Fire
4. I Sound Is From Creation
5. Rebel With A Cause
6. Rising Star
7. Some People
8. Everything Is Everything
9. Self Mastery Flex
10. Defender
11. Free The People
12. Friends
13. Teach The Youths Dem (Meditation)
14. Be Careful (Rags To Riches)   

Read 1084 times Last modified on Monday, 23 February 2015 10:02

Leave a comment

Make sure you enter all the required information, indicated by an asterisk (*). HTML code is not allowed.


Old Dancehall News

March 21 2012 0

Mr. Vegas to perform at Winter Music Conference tonight in Miami

Mr. Vegas is bringing a slice of 'Sweet Jamaica' to Miami for this year's Winter Music Conference. LargeUp.com and Rice and Peas' WMC party at…

Latest Comments